We are currently updating the OP Help Center content for the release of OP 14.19 or OP 19. OP 19 is a member of the certified OP 14 family of products (official version is 14.19.1), which you may see in your software (such as in Help > About) and in the Help Center tabs labeled 14.19. You may also notice that the version number in content and videos may not match the version of your software, and some procedural content may not match the workflow in your software. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we make these enhancements.

Charge Posting Options

Version 14.19

Overview

Regardless of where you choose to post electronic superbills (Tracking, the Billing Center, or the Patient Account), the same posting options will be available to you. The sections below define the posting options available prior to reviewing the charges and the options available for saving and queuing the charges. 

Posting Options Available Prior to Reviewing Charges

The following options appear in all windows where charges may be posted. Knowing the differences between the buttons will allow you to develop a workflow that works best for the practice.

  • The Auto-Post button , a system preference that can be disabled if desired, allows users to post all charges in one click. The Add/Edit Charges window does not open for you to review or edit charges, but edits may still be made to the posted charges by clicking the Edit button located in the Posted Charges section of the window. The Edit button will reopen the Add/Edit Charges window where edits can be made and saved.
  • The Post All button allows users to post all charges for the patient that are listed in the unposted charges section of the window. The Add/Edit Charges window will open so users can edit charge information.
If Post All is selected when charges for more than one visit for the same date of service are listed (i.e. the same child returned and saw another provider on the same date), a warning box appears to alert the biller that Post Selected should be used.
By clicking OK, all charges will be pulled onto the same claim. However, only one provider will appear on the claim (the first to have seen the patient). By clicking Cancel, you will have the opportunity to select which charges should be billed together and then select Post Selected. The corresponding Billing Provider will appropriately attach to each claim. The same functionality applies when posting charges from a patient's account.

  •  The Post Selected button allows users to split the charges to create multiple claims. To select the charges: 
  1. Hold down the Ctrl key on your keyboard.
  2. Click on the claim lines to highlight the charge lines that you want to post.
  3. Click the Post Selected button. When posting selected charges, the system will then prompt the question "Split the highlighted charges to a separate claim?".
  • The Edit button in the unposted charges section of the window allows users to view and make edits to the electronic superbill information prior to posting the charges.

Posting Options to Save Charges

Once charges have been reviewed in the Add/Edit Charges window, you will be presented with three options regarding how you would like to save the charges and exit the window.

  • Save + Queue: saves the claim and places it in the Transmit Queue.
  • Save: saves the claim, but does not place the claim in the Transmit Queue. Click here to learn how to then move the claims to the Transmit Queue.
  • Cancel: saves the claim, but does not place the claim in the Transmit Queue.

Once one of the above buttons is clicked, the charges will be listed under the Posted Charges heading. For information on how to edit current posted charges (those which have not been archived on a daysheet), click here.

Version 14.10

Overview

Regardless of where you choose to post electronic superbills (Tracking, the Billing Center, or the Patient Account), the same posting options will be available to you. The sections below define the posting options available prior to reviewing the charges and the options available for saving and queuing the charges. 

Posting Options Available Prior to Reviewing Charges

The following options appear in all windows where charges may be posted. Knowing the differences between the buttons will allow you to develop a workflow that works best for the practice.

  • The Auto-Post button , a system preference that can be disabled if desired, allows users to post all charges in one click. The Add/Edit Charges window does not open for you to review or edit charges, but edits may still be made to the posted charges by clicking the Edit button located in the Posted Charges section of the window. The Edit button will reopen the Add/Edit Charges window where edits can be made and saved.
  • The Post All button allows users to post all charges for the patient that are listed in the unposted charges section of the window. The Add/Edit Charges window will open so users can edit charge information.
If Post All is selected when charges for more than one visit for the same date of service are listed (i.e. the same child returned and saw another provider on the same date), a warning box appears to alert the biller that Post Selected should be used.
By clicking OK, all charges will be pulled onto the same claim. However, only one provider will appear on the claim (the first to have seen the patient). By clicking Cancel, you will have the opportunity to select which charges should be billed together and then select Post Selected. The corresponding Billing Provider will appropriately attach to each claim. The same functionality applies when posting charges from a patient's account.

  •  The Post Selected button allows users to split the charges to create multiple claims. To select the charges: 
  1. Hold down the Ctrl key on your keyboard.
  2. Click on the claim lines to highlight the charge lines that you want to post.
  3. Click the Post Selected button. When posting selected charges, the system will then prompt the question "Split the highlighted charges to a separate claim?".
  • The Edit button in the unposted charges section of the window allows users to view and make edits to the electronic superbill information prior to posting the charges.

Posting Options to Save Charges

Once charges have been reviewed in the Add/Edit Charges window, you will be presented with three options regarding how you would like to save the charges and exit the window.

  • Save + Queue: saves the claim and places it in the Transmit Queue.
  • Save: saves the claim, but does not place the claim in the Transmit Queue. Click here to learn how to then move the claims to the Transmit Queue.
  • Cancel: saves the claim, but does not place the claim in the Transmit Queue.

Once one of the above buttons is clicked, the charges will be listed under the Posted Charges heading. For information on how to edit current posted charges (those which have not been archived on a daysheet), click here.