Important Content Update Message
We are currently updating the OP Help Center content for the release of OP 20. OP 20 (official version 20.0.x) is the certified, 2015 Edition, version of the Office Practicum software. This is displayed in your software (Help tab > About) and in the Help Center tab labeled Version 20.0. We appreciate your patience as we continue to update all of our content.

Document Controls Toolbar

Version 14.19

The OP software displays the Document Controls toolbar above the Thumbnails panel and Preview panel. This toolbar provides the basic actions and navigation for the selected document.

Groups of Document Control Functions

Document Control functions are organized into three groups:

  1. Previewing, printing, sending a message, editing, and deleting the document.
  2. Marking as reviewed, reconciling the document, and attaching it to items such as Problem List entry and Referrals.
  3. Document navigation and viewing. 

The functions organized in the Document Controls toolbar include:

  • Show Image Fullscreen button: Click this button to open the selected document in a separate browser window. The window can be maximized to the full size of the computer screen. See below for additional details on the Show Image Fullscreen feature.
  • Print Selected Record button: Click this button to print the selected document.
  • Send button: Allows the user to send a document to another user. Click this button to create a message and attach the selected document to the message and to send the message to internal or external recipients using Direct Messaging.
  • Edit button: Click this button to put the document in Edit mode. Edit mode allows you to make drawing, annotation, and pagination changes to the selected document and to the document details. See Edit Mode and Edit Page Buttons for details on editing the document itself. See Document Details Panel for details on editing document details.  
  • Delete button: Click this button to delete the selected document. A warning message is displayed, “Do you really want to PERMANENTLY delete the selected document? This correction is not recoverable. You may be discarding the last available copy of this document.” If you click the Yes button, the OP software displays the Audit Trail dialog box requiring the end user to enter a reason for deleting the document. This information is added to the Audit Trail. 

  • Mark Reviewed button: Click this button to displays a pop-up window with the confirmation message, “Mark the selected document as reviewed by [name]?” where name represents the name selected in the Addressed To field of the Document Details panel. The options are: OK + Close, OK, and Cancel.
  • Reconcile button: Click this button to reconcile the selected document with the Patient Chart of the selected patient.
  • Attach button: Click this button to attach the selected document to a Problem List entry or Referral. Use this button after a document has been saved. 

Tips for Application Use

When inputting a document initially, you should complete the Details panel.  If selecting the Item type of either Diagnostic Test or Referral Letter you are presented with a list of associated records when clicking the Paperclip in the Item Category field. This allows you to attach the document to an associated record.
  • Detach button: Click this button to detach the selected document from the medical records it is associated with.
  • Scrolling buttons: These are standard scrolling buttons.
  • Zoom buttons: These are standard buttons for zooming in and zooming out.

Expected Behavior
Some of the above buttons are not active in Edit mode and only activate when a document in Edit mode has been saved.


Send and Attach Feature

The Attach paperclip allows you to access the Search for Documents window to search a patient's documents and select a document to attach to the message you are sending. A grid to the bottom of the New Message window displays all documents attached to the message.

In addition, when in the Manage Documents window, you may select the Send button to attach the current document to a message. Once the Message window open you may attach additional documents to the message with the paperclip.

Showing a Full screen Image

When the end user is viewing a document in Full Screen Document mode in the Manage Documents window and either clicks on the image or clicks a key on the keyboard, the OP software does not close the document. 

Version 14.10

The OP software displays the Document Controls toolbar above the Thumbnails panel and Preview panel. This toolbar provides the basic actions and navigation for the selected document.

Groups of Document Control Functions

Document Control functions are organized into three groups:

  1. Previewing, printing, editing, and deleting the document.
  2. Marking as reviewed, reconciling the document, and attaching it to items such as Diagnostic Tests and Referrals.
  3. Document navigation and viewing. 

The functions organized in the Document Controls toolbar include:

  • Show Image Fullscreen button: Click this button to open the selected document in a separate browser window, which you can maximize to the full size of the computer screen. See below for additional details on the Show Image Fullscreen feature.
  • Print Selected Record button: Click this button to print the selected document.
  • Send button: Allows you to send a document to another user. Click this button to create a message and attach the selected document to the message and to send the message to internal or external recipients using Direct Messaging.
  • Edit button: Click this button to put the document in Edit mode. Edit mode allows you to make drawing, annotation, and pagination changes to the selected document and to the document details. See Edit Mode and Edit Page Buttons for details on editing the document itself. See Document Details Panel for details on editing document details.  
  • Delete button: Click this button to delete the selected document. When you click the Delete button, the following warning message is displayed: “Do you really want to PERMANENTLY delete the selected document? This correction is not  recoverable. You may be discarding the last available copy of this document.” If you click the Yes button, the OP software displays the Audit Trail dialog box which requires you to enter a reason for deleting the document. This information is added to the Audit Trail. 
  • Mark Reviewed button: Click this button to display a pop-up window with the confirmation message, “Mark the selected document as reviewed by [name]?” where name represents the name selected in the Addressed To field of the Document Details panel. The options are: OK + Close, OK, and Cancel.
  • Reconcile button: Click this button to reconcile the selected document with the Patient Chart of the selected patient.
  • Attach button: Click this button to attach the selected document to a Diagnostic Test or Referral. Use this button after a document has been saved. This is an additional option for linking a document to a Diagnostic Test or to a Referral. When inputting a document initially, complete the Details panel. When you click the Category field, OP 14 displays a Paperclip icon, which allows you to attach a document. If the end user selects an Item type of either Diagnostic Test or Referral, clicking the Paperclip presents the popup box associated with the selected Item Type.
  • Detach button: Click this button to detach the selected document from the medical records it is associated with.
  • Scrolling buttons: These are standard scrolling buttons.
  • Zoom buttons: These are standard buttons for zooming in and zooming out.

Note:  Some of the above buttons are not active in Edit mode and only activate when a document in Edit mode has been saved.

Send and Attach Feature

The Attach paperclip allows you to access the Search for Documents window to search a patient's documents and select a document to attach to the message you are sending. A grid to the bottom of the New Message window displays all documents attached to the message.

Show Image Fullscreen

When you are viewing a document in Full Screen Document mode in the Manage Documents window and click the image or presses a key on the keyboard, the OP software does not close the document.