Merging Duplicate Patient Charts

Version 14.19

In the event that a patient is registered twice in OP and has two charts, users that have the assigned permission (the permission is AA_SystemAdmin_mi, which can be added from the Admin tab > Security Administration button) can merge the charts after deciding which chart contains the most valuable information.  Follow these steps to complete the merge:

  1. Review the two charts to decide which patient # will be active and which patient # will be merged.
  2. Make sure both patient #s are set to Active status.
  3. Access the Patient Chart button > Basic Information for the chart that will be marked as Merged.
  4. Click the Merge button.
  5. Review the following confirmation window: 

  1. Select Yes to confirm you are ready to merge.  Then, acknowledge the merge is complete.
  2. Once the Merge is complete:
  • The status of the merged Patient Chart will be changed to Merged.
  • XXX will appear in front of the patient's name.

The merged patient will no longer appear when searching for active patients in the Patient Directory.

If a merge was done in error, use the Unmerge button.
Version 14.10

In the event that a patient is registered twice in OP and has two charts, users that have the assigned permission (the permission is AA_SystemAdmin_mi, which can be added from the System Admin security group) can merge the charts after deciding which chart contains the most valuable information.  Follow these steps to complete the merge:

  1. Review the two charts to decide which patient # will be active and which patient # will be merged.
  2. Make sure both patient #s are set to Active status.
  3. Access the Patient Register that will be marked as Merged.
  4. Click the Merge button.
  5. Review the following confirmation window: 

  1. Select Yes to confirm you are ready to merge.  Then, acknowledge the merge is complete.
  2. Once the Merge is complete:
  • The status of the merged account in the Patient Register will be changed to Merged.
  • XXX will appear in front of the patient's name

The merged patient will no longer appear when searching for active patients in the Patient Directory.

If a merge was done in error, use the Unmerge button.