Messaging FAQs

How do I remove message from wrong chart and place in correct chart?

Only the person who sends the message or someone who has the permission to view all messages can delete it.

  1. Select the Sent tab.
  2. Highlight the message.
  3. Click on the Red X.

Once the message has been voided, you can then create the message in the correct patient's chart.

How do I delete message after it has been read?

After a message has been read, you are unable to delete the message but can you can invalidate the message if you were the original sender . To invalidate a message:

Path: Smart Toolbar > Schedule button > Messages tab

Overview

This page will instruct you on how to invalidate a message.

Invalidating a Message


Only the original sender can invalidate a message, and invalidating it will remove the entire message thread.
  1. Click the Sent tab.
  2. Highlight the message to invalidate. 
  3. Click the Invalidate button.

  1. Click OK to confirm that you wish to invalidate the message. This action cannot be reversed.
      

Invalidated notes will not be outwardly visible in the patient's record. However, since the message was at one point part of the patient's medical record it may NOT be physically deleted. In the Event Chronology you are still able to search for invalidated messages and visits. The message and visit would appear with a note indicating that the record is invalid.
  1. Access these messages by clicking on the Event Chronology button and click the "Include invalidated" box.

How do I get rid of sent messages?

Path: Smart Toolbar > Schedule button > Messages tab

Overview

This page will instruct you on how to invalidate a message.

Invalidating a Message


Only the original sender can invalidate a message, and invalidating it will remove the entire message thread.
  1. Click the Sent tab.
  2. Highlight the message to invalidate. 
  3. Click the Invalidate button.

  1. Click OK to confirm that you wish to invalidate the message. This action cannot be reversed.
      

Invalidated notes will not be outwardly visible in the patient's record. However, since the message was at one point part of the patient's medical record it may NOT be physically deleted. In the Event Chronology you are still able to search for invalidated messages and visits. The message and visit would appear with a note indicating that the record is invalid.
  1. Access these messages by clicking on the Event Chronology button and click the "Include invalidated" box.