A survey will show up on a patient's portal once the appointment has been confirmed as long as the below conditions are met:
- The survey is added to the Well Visit Template as a Standing Order set to the Patient Department.
- The Appointment is created with the Appointment Reason set to the Well Visit Template that has the survey set to Standing/Patient.
Once a lab is marked as Completed or Informed, within OP, the patient will then see the results on the portal.
|Note: This functionality will need to be enabled.|
Once a patient has logged into the portal and finished the registration process, you will no longer be able to edit the email address listed in the patient register, as it will be grayed out.
Yes, the portal is mobile friendly and will adjust to the screen size of the mobile device.
If you make a change to your patient portal, then you will see the update automatically.
To update the childs ability to view the portal follow the steps below:
- Once a child turns 18 you will want to make them their own contact within their patient register; Patient Register > Contacts tab > Add button.
- The child's own contact would include their email address and their cell phone number.
- Under the Portal column they would be given Full Access to the patient portal.
To update the parents ability to view the portal once their child has turned 18, and given consent to allow for their parents to continue to access their portal, follow the steps below:
- While in the Patient Register > Contacts tab click on the parent's name that you wish to change access to.
- Once the patient turns 18, the Minor setting that was in place for the contact will automatically change to None.
- Under the Portal column they would be given Full Access to continue to access their child's patient portal.
If an email address needs to be changed, the parent will have to log into their patient portal to update the email address. It cannot be edited within the patient register.
If you want to remove a document from showing on the portal you will need to change the Item Type from Forms to another option. This can be completed under Docs. This will automatically remove the form from the portal.
If a parent is new to the practice, and they have not yet been added to OP, then they would go to your portal URL and create an account. If you have enabled the feature, New Patient Registration, then the parent can register their child as well.
|Note: Parent will not see child on the portal until the practice has set the child's patient status in the patient register to Active.|
Portal Access Overview
There are two determining factors that may drive where you will find out how many patients have accessed the portal.
- If you purchased the Meaningful Use bundle
- If you have not purchased the Meaningful Use bundle
If you purchased the Meaningful Use bundle
If you purchased the Meaningful Use bundle, you can:
- Navigate to Tools > QIC (MU Calculator) in the main menu.
- Select the All Providers checkbox.
- Enter the date range for which you would like to see data.
- Click the Refresh button.
- Measure 8A will show Patient Electronic Access (access)
- Measure 8B will show Patient Electronic Access (use), 2017
- The Patient List/Description tab will show the details of the total result.
If you did not purchase the Meaningful Use bundle
If you have not purchased the Meaningful Use bundle, you can run an SQL in your OP Database Viewer that will show how many patients have accessed the portal. Depending upon the results you'd like to see, choose from the following SQLs:
Yes. Documents that have been scanned into a patient's records can be saved to the Patient Portal. In order for a document to be saved to the Patient Portal, the Item Type should be set to Forms. If an item has already been scanned into OP 14 with a different item type, an edit may be made to the document to change the Item Type. For more information on editing a scanned item, click here.
Documents with the Item Type of Forms will be seen on the Patient Portal under the Patient Information tab > Forms category.
It is common for practices to deactivate a staff member or provider in OP 14 when that person is no longer with the practice. However, prior to deactivating the user, you will want to ensure that any items they are attached to in the Patient Portal have been updated. If you have already deactivated the user, you will need to reactivate that user in the Staff/Provider Directory before addressing Portal items.
To change Portal preferences:
- Log into the Portal as an Admin.
- Navigate to Preferences.
- Deselect the user under the following items:
|Note: Not all items may appear in your portal window. The items are based on your configuration.|
- Appointment Requests
- Prescription Refills
- Request Medical History
- Deactivate the user in the Staff/Provider Directory.
- Log into the Patient Portal with the practice administration login and password.
- Click the Administration button in the navigation panel.
- Locate the Other section and click Patient Registration.
- Click the Deactivate button. If Alternate Account Management was on, the Password Complexity Policy will also need to be reset.