System Preferences: Security

Version 20.5
Path: Admin tab > Global Preferences button > Security tab

User Permission: The System Preferences window is only available to users with permission: AA_SystemAdmin_mi.

Overview

The Security tab of the System Preferences window contains options that create secure workstation access. Some of these options include strong password validation, and auto and timed logout settings.

  • Auto Logout: Select the Do Not Allow Simultaneous login on Multiple Workstations checkbox to prohibit the same user from being logged into OP on multiple machines at the same time. Per the instructions, each workstation must be identified by the program in order for Auto Logout to work. To add/edit workstations, go to Utilities > System Admin > Workgroup Administration. On the top portion of the window, you will see a list of all computer names available on your network (even if some are no longer used).  You can view the log one of two ways.
    • First, by a specific computer, just highlight the computer name on the top portion of the screen.  On the lower half, under the tab labeled "Security History for Above Workstation," you will see a list of all the users who logged in and out of that machine with the date and time.
    • Second, history for all machines, simply click on the tab labeled "Security History for All Workstations" on the bottom half of the Workgroup Administration window.  This will show you the OP designation (computer name), user, log in and out times (with date).  Scroll down and expand the screen to see old dates.

Tip: For the purpose of accurate Time Tracking related to E/M Encounter coding, the Auto-Logout checkbox must be checked to disallow users from logging on to multiple workstations.

  • Timed Logout: Sets the number of minutes of inactivity after which all windows are closed and Office Practicum automatically logs out the user. The number will automatically be set to 20 minutes. After 15 minutes, if an Encounter or Well Exam window is open and in a state of insert or edit, then it will be auto-saved. Note: If there is no activity in Office Practicum for 3 hours, all open forms are closed and Office Practicum is shut down. Other than the Encounter and Well exam window, Office Practicum cannot auto-save data in other windows when this auto-shut down process is triggered.

Tip: For the purpose of accurate Time Tracking related to E/M Encounter coding, time can only be tracked when the Rendering provider is logged in to OP. Providers should be mindful of the time that is not tracked if they are logged out based on the number of minutes entered for Timed Logout.

Version 20.4
Path: Admin tab > Global Preferences button > Security tab

User Permission: The System Preferences window is only available to users with permission: AA_SystemAdmin_mi.

Overview

The Security tab of the System Preferences window contains options that create secure workstation access. Some of these options include strong password validation, and auto and timed logout settings.

  • Auto Logout: Select the Do Not Allow Simultaneous login on Multiple Workstations checkbox to prohibit the same user from being logged into OP on multiple machines at the same time. Per the instructions, each workstation must be identified by the program in order for Auto Logout to work. To add/edit workstations, go to Utilities > System Admin > Workgroup Administration. On the top portion of the window, you will see a list of all computer names available on your network (even if some are no longer used).  You can view the log one of two ways.
    • First, by a specific computer, just highlight the computer name on the top portion of the screen.  On the lower half, under the tab labeled "Security History for Above Workstation," you will see a list of all the users who logged in and out of that machine with the date and time.
    • Second, history for all machines, simply click on the tab labeled "Security History for All Workstations" on the bottom half of the Workgroup Administration window.  This will show you the OP designation (computer name), user, log in and out times (with date).  Scroll down and expand the screen to see old dates.
  • Timed Logout: Sets the number of minutes of inactivity after which all windows are closed and Office Practicum automatically logs out the user. The number will automatically be set to 20 minutes. After 15 minutes, if an Encounter or Well Exam window is open and in a state of insert or edit, then it will be auto-saved. 

WarningIf there is no activity in Office Practicum for 3 hours, all open forms are closed and Office Practicum is shut down. Other than the Encounter and Well exam window, Office Practicum cannot auto-save data in other windows when this auto-shut down process is triggered.