There is no notification made after a parent self-registers and the practice authenticates the child. The parent has to log in and check to see if their child appears. Note: This does not happen immediately.
As an alternative, after the patient is authenticated, the practice can send a message from OP to the patient on the portal. That will push a notification to the parent (as long as the notification of a new message is enabled).